Steve Carpenter Studio show, some tattoos, figure drawing, you know… all the things

Started out with some sessions on big in progress work.

Added some more color to Debbie’s octopus. I have come to realize that some of the ongoing projects have fans. A couple of people have referred to Debbie’s octopus as “one of my favorites” and I have had others ask me how the Octopus Lady is doing.

Cheer her on! This a giant project and covers some parts that are not particularly fun to have tattooed. She is doing great and is committed to seeing this project through. I am having a ton of fun and really enjoy the time I get to spend with Debbie. We may need to adopt her at the shop so that we can keep her after this one is finished.

octopus tattoo in progress octopus tattoo in progress

Rob came to town for another session on his mountain unicycle knight facing off against a dragon tattoo (okay, yes, it’s a wordy description…. but come on the guy rides a unicycle… on mountains… that’s worth mentioning!)

Also this time Rob brought us some amazing gluten free cookie treats. They were from Matt’s Cookie Bars and I highly recommend that you give them a try if you are of the gluten free variety (or even if you aren’t and you just like tasty snacks).

Beyond that it bears mentioning that even though Rob got tattooed in the Greece location this visit – he still stopped by the Webster shop on the way home and brought the crew out there a plate of goodies also! We have lots of people bring us treaties – but I don’t know that anyone has ever done that. Well, except for Bonnie who makes us Christmas cookies each year for both shops. I apologize for almost forgetting you Bonnie. Please, please don’t hold it against me. We fight over getting to those cooking first every single year.

dragon and muni knight tattoo dragon and muni knight tattoo dragon and muni knight tattoo

So. (insert weird little hand motion that people who spend a lot of time at the shops know).  Supernatural. It’s a big deal apparently and since I live under a rock (a rock with internet) I don’t know much about Supernatural. It’s a television show and people LOVE it. Cathy is a big fan of the show (as it turns out are a lot of people! Nadia included) and asked me to make this tattoo for her. It’s not the kind of thing I would normally tattoo anymore – but I really love Cathy and her family a ton. So she gets special treatment. I do think I am going to need to get better cheater glasses if I am going to continue to do tattoos this small.

Now Cathy is safe from being possessed.

So I hear.

🙂

Supernatural tattoo supernatural tattoo on wrist

This happened.

Thank you Marc (aka Draco Dominum) for volunteering your person to be part of this madness 🙂 I hope that you have lots of fun with your new nipple!

extra nipple tattoo extra nipple tattoo extra nipple tattoo extra nipple tattoo

I made a couple of conventional reconstructive nipples that day as well – those will be on the medical site at a later date. PointlessNipples.com

I had drawn this piece up for a project that it didn’t get used for. I really liked the piece – so I posted it on facebook asking if there was anyone who might be interested in getting it tattooed on them. Heather stepped up and said that it had an Alice in Wonderland feel that she really liked and she would be willing to have it put on her. After she arrived she told me that she has plan for an Alice in Wonderland thigh piece and wanted to know if I might be interested in making that for her. YES!! All of the yes 🙂

ornate key tattoo

Some painting roughs that I am putting together so that I actually have a plan when I get to Asheville in two weeks. This time I will have stuff planned out ahead of time so I don’t choke (or spend a day repainting something I painted the day before) like I did in Hell City. Looking forward to seeing family and friends and having some more painting time.
If you are going to be in Asheville – come see Holly, Lake and me at the McMitten’s Cat Lady Shelter.

merbunny nights merbunny mourns

Some previews of the work that is currently hanging in the Steve Carpenter Studio. This isn’t all of them, but you can get a tease. Hours are listed in the previous post – you still have some time to get out and see this show in person.

IMG_2511 IMG_2512 IMG_2513 IMG_2514 IMG_2515 IMG_2516 IMG_2517 IMG_2518 IMG_2519 IMG_2521 IMG_2522 IMG_2524 IMG_2525 IMG_2526 IMG_2527 IMG_2528 IMG_2529 IMG_2530

Figure drawing had been cancelled for tonight because of the show going on…. then someone changed their mind and it was uncancelled. I had already made plans with (my friend) Natasha when I thought figure drawing was cancelled – but she was able to get together a little earlier so I was able to do both. Fortunate for me because for no reason at all she bought me this really awesome shirt. (which I think Holly had ordered less than 10 minutes after I showed it to her)

tee fury cat skull shirt

Great model tonight. I love drawing curvy humans.

figure drawing figure drawing figure drawing figure drawing figure drawing figure drawing

Okay I have homework I should be doing – so that’s it for tonight. See y’all soon.

~ by justteejay on June 15, 2015.

5 Responses to “Steve Carpenter Studio show, some tattoos, figure drawing, you know… all the things”

  1. Thank you TeeJay for doing this tattoo for me and for including me in your blog! I feel so special! It was so good to see you and everyone. Lots of love and hugs! ~ Cathy

  2. I’m loving my octo tattoo more and more as you add to it, and I’m proud that people I’ve never met refer to me as the octopus lady, lol! Anytime you want to adopt me as a shop mascot, just say the word: I’m already dreading the completion of this one because I’m going to miss all our long chats about life, the universe, and everything. In fact once we’re done I may have to opt for an anti-possession sigil of my own, seeing how nice Nadia’s turned out and also to give me an excuse to come back in!

    • One of the things that gets discussed a lot in the shop is that we bring people into the fold and keep them. You can come by and visit and hang out anytime even if you aren’t getting tattooed. I really enjoy our visits in the shop and keeping in touch some on facebook. Maybe we could start the AYU back up and get you to come make stuff with us.

  3. Oops, guess I meant Cathy’s anti possession tattoo turned out nice, not Nadia’s, sorry! Although, Nadia…where’s yours? 😉

Leave a Reply

 
